“Ashtanga Yoga” [ Eight limbs of Yoga]~ Part-5

Mental modifications are the cause of unstable mind. Instability of mind can be stopped ,if we concentrate on our thoughts appearing in mind. Whatever we think in waking condition are among five types of Vritti as mentioned in Patanjali Yoga Sutras. Most of the time, the thoughts are found to be baseless and they are originated due to ignorance only. This ignorance is due to absence of knowledge of our real nature, true nature which is “purusha”.  Ignorance is removed by regular and persistent practice of Yoga. Ignorance can be removed by gaining more insight into the nature of our mind and going beyond mind.

“Ashtanga Yoga” [ Eight limbs of Yoga]~ Part-4

Dharana, Dhyana & Samadhi: These three limbs together lead aspirants to the ultimate goal.  When Dhyana enters into Samadhi , the Gate which leads into the world of realities opens. Samadhi means a state of mind which through the practice of Dharana and Dhyana has become so  completely tranquil and the person meditating  is so absorbed that the he or she even forgets own existence.   

“Ashtanga Yoga” [ Eight limbs of Yoga]~ Part-3

Disclaimer:  ☆The article is purely based on my studies, my thoughts, my concept, my beliefs, my experiences and self realization.☆I found some link between modern science and teachings of ancient sages as mentioned in Vedanta, regarding Universe, Supreme Consciousness or the Ultimate truth , the Ultimate Reality whatever we say.☆ The term “MAN” wherever used … Continue reading “Ashtanga Yoga” [ Eight limbs of Yoga]~ Part-3

“Ashtanga Yoga” [ Eight limbs of Yoga]~ Part-2

This part is devoted to the discussion of ” Ashtanga Yoga”   (Patanjali Yoga Sutras):- Target: To make the MIND calm, tranquil and free from disturbances. Introduction :  There are Six systems of Hindu philosophy:    Samkhya ; Yoga ; Nyaya ; Vaisheshika; Mimamsa & Vedanta. Here we will focus on Yoga system~ “Patanjali Yoga Sutras” … Continue reading “Ashtanga Yoga” [ Eight limbs of Yoga]~ Part-2


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

About Me

Subscribe to My Blog

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.